mean beans & phat beets

My body is giving up on me.
It has been for a couple years. Maybe 3.
This is due to my diet of:
McDonald’s
Taco Bell
Panda Express
Oberon
Southwest Egg Rolls
Movie Theater Butter Popcorn
Donuts
Soda
Extra cheese and mayo when applicable
Late night snacking
Lucky Charms
Fried everything
Frozen pizza addiction
Meals in a box
Ramen noodles
Chocolate milk boxes
Fountain pop
Hot pockets
Rice krispie treats
Slurpees

Why, oh why does food that’s bad for you have to taste so good?
And so, this is the beginning of yet another
changing part of Britt.
I want to feel good mentally and physically when I wake up
in the morning. And so I shall.
But let me be very clear to those of you who are just
waiting to catch me “slipping.”
This is not a vow against junk food.
This is about balance.
I may eat meatless meat from time to time, but
I could never give up pork or chicken wings.
I may start paying more attention to what I’m ingesting,
but I will not give up donuts & fast food completely.
(yet)
This is merely me, deciding to start taking better care of my body.
I LOVE BAD FOOD.
But I love feeling good more.
So we’ll compromise.
…………………………………………………..

Marty & I had another wonderful date night last week.
Pizza, gelato & a movie.
We ate outside. I think everything tastes better when
you can eat it or drink it outside.
If you haven’t seen 21 Jump Street, you’re missing out.
We didn’t hold hands in the movies and I started
to wonder, is that what teen couples and new couples do?
We shared an arm rest and the popcorn, but not hands.
We aren’t hand holders…we’re pinky holders.
What’s the consensus?


…………………………………..

I had a day date with Jenn too.
I could really use more of her in my life.
She’s a breath of fresh air.
And although we only started to get close in the past couple
years, I can tell her mostly anything.
We ate some BBQ, had some mason jar brews, and enjoyed
coffee & some art together.
Those are my favorite kind of days.

…………………………………………..

My Dad suggested that I start getting into cooking again
to expand myself as a person.
I used to love it.
I think i started to hate it when I was living
in apartments with less than stellar kitchens.
There is something about cooking in a 4×4 square
that turns me off a bit. Perhaps it was just too claustrophobic?
So I made homemade dumplings and chicken soup.
I think of this photo as showing M that I’m gonna be a damn good wife
someday. What are we going to do with him you guys?
Please share your favorite recipes!
Ones that don’t have cilantro in them!
email them to me : bmajka@saic.edu


…………………………………………..

I lost my Whole Foods virginity this week.
I’m obsessed.
I think what I love most about it, is that it smells good.
You think I’m crazy huh?
The next time you go to your local Kroger or Meijer,
take a big whif when you walk in.
It wreaks of metal, plastic wrap and a hint of
the sticky stuff that you discovered leaking from
something on the bottom shelf of your fridge.
Not at WF.
It smelled like brick oven pizza, fresh fish, spices,
flowers, homemade soap, pineapple and
a hint of cardboard.
I love the people too.
Patrons and employees.
Oh, and did I mention that some of the brands have THE GREATEST
names for stuff?




You don’t need an entire jar of
spanish saffron? No problem.
Measure out what your recipe calls for and call it a day.
Amazeballs.

Oh, are you a Michigander looking for Oberon?
Not a problem!
{and it’s $2 cheaper than the store across the street}

I’m hooked for life.

……………………………………………

Sammi is still mean as hell.
I’ve tried catching her on video so I can show you,
but she {like everyone else in my life} has a 6th
sense for the camera and she pretends to be a little angel.
One day I’ll catch her.

………………………………….

Marty’s Mom corrupted me.
When we first met, I didn’t eat dessert in any form.
No candy.
No chocolate.
No nothing.
And when we’d go there for dinner, she’d make dessert and
always forget that I didn’t like it.
But I’d make myself eat it because I felt bad!
Well, over time I stopped having to force it down.
I’ll never forget the time we went for dinner and
I was actually looking forward to the dessert.
It was chocolate mousse.
Otherwise known as heaven on earth.
And now here I am, with a sweet tooth.
Hopelessly addicted to cute little pastries like this.


…………………………………………………

I must have been adopted…because I
am  the only person in my family that can’t bowl.

……………………………..

Lauren is engaged!!!!!
Her and Sean are heading out to Vegas in December
to tie the knot.
You better believe I’m gonna be there come hell or high water.
I’m so happy for them, and she looked so happy
at dinner last night and I am so thankful that after
14 years, 362 miles, and our very busy lives that
we’re still able to celebrate these huge moments together.
Congrats to her & Sean on their beautiful future together!


…………………………………………….

I think I’ve covered recent events.
Heading home to the Mitten shortly.
This was supposed to be a more play, less work weekend….
well, you know that didn’t happen.
But I do have some really fun stuff planned with very awesome
people this weekend.
Lunch dates.
Dinner Dates.
Getting my hair did.
Dinner with my cousin in K-Z00.
Dinner with the BOYSSSSSSSS!
And, I get to photograph a very very special baby on Sunday.
Her name is Charlie.
She’s been battling Leukemia since she was just a few
days old. She is 7 months old now, and has been fighting for her
life and having amazing results.
I’m so honored to have this opportunity.
These are the kinds of moments that shape me as an artist.
LOVE.THE.JOURNEY.

And lastly,


be kind.
do something nice for someone.
be better than you were yesterday.

Leave a Reply

