I’m addicted to Cocoa Puffs.

Dear Friends,

I’ve been eating Cocoa Puffs since I can remember.
I was fortunate that I had parents who let us eat
whatever cereal we wanted. I think that was mainly because
we loved the healthy ones just as much as the bad ones.
But I want to talk to you about Cocoa Puffs.
I have always loved them, but nowhere near to the extreme in
which I am loving them currently.
First off, I have to admit something that I was caught doing red-handed
yesterday by Marty. Of course! We couldn’t keep a single
thing from each other if we tried…not even a secret like this!

The other night, I poured a bowl of cereal…the first bowl of the
entire box. The toy came spilling out into my bowl.
When I was kid, it was a race to the bottom of the box
with my brothers. We didn’t even give ourselves the opportunity for the
surprise to surprise us! We would open the box without
any intention of even pouring a bowl of cereal just to get the toy.

I would have killed for there to be a camera on me when this moment
happened. I was immediately transported back in time to where
things like this were magical. My face lit up, I had an ear to ear smile,
I was excited, I wanted to text everybody….It was amazing!

{i apologize for the horrible photo. it just didn’t occur to me
in the moment that this would be a blog post
later so I took a crappy careless photo!}

Here’s the thing though….
It excited me so much, that I put the toy back in the box because
I wanted it to happen again. I knew that I would forget
about the toy by the next time I wanted to eat the cereal again (6 hours)
and I just wanted to experience that nostalgic, child-like
excitement about a prize one more time…
I’m so lame.
This is so ridiculous.

Well, last night Marty witnessed the toy spilling out into my bowl.
I couldn’t help but laugh hysterically because I truly did get
excited all over again. I was embarrassed, but I was overwhelmed
with the emotion of the whole thing that I didn’t care.
…I put the toy back in the back for one last surprise.

The moral of this story is that Cocoa Puffs are so delicious.
Even when they start to get soggy.
And don’t forget that its chocolate milk at the end of the bowl.
Does it get much better than that?
I’ve eaten an entire box in 72 hours.
And if you’re anything like me, I hope you get the
excitement of the toy falling into your bowl someday as
an adult too.

Love,
Your hopelessly addicted friend

……………………………

I’m leaving for holiday tomorrow!
Like a real holiday!
I’m {hopefully} leaving my laptop at home!
Sun.
Cocktails.
Friends.
Grandparents.
the Gulf.
sand.
sleeping in.
no work.

…but if you left it up to me.everyday would be a holiday from real.
we’d waste our weeks beneath the sun.we’d fry our brains
and say its so much fun.out here….
when it’s all over. ill come for another year.

Cheers, my lovelies!

One thought on “I’m addicted to Cocoa Puffs.

  1. my strange addiction;
    hey , I’m 21 and I’m a hude addict to cocoa puffs i’m eating it all day with or without milk a box can’t saty no more then 48 hours .

Leave a Reply

