“I’m not a businessman, I’m a business, Man.”

Name that song.

 

I officially come here today as a business WOMAN.
It was never part of the plan, it just happened.
I woke up this week, started doing numbers and talking it out with myself as usual…
and BAM! Marty & I came to the realization that we need to keep track
of all of my jobs and start taking out taxes to be paid.
WHAT?!?!
Oh yes.
I am officially making enough money with my side photography
to start treating it as a business and not just a hobby.
It’s scary. And it’s no fun to give some of the money to the government,
but it makes it feel less aggravating when I think about the fact that
the money helps my solider friends who fight for our safety.

I’m going to take this opportunity to thank everyone who has
supported me, put my name out there, gave me business
and kept a roof over our head this past year.
My work only takes me so far, and your word of mouth does the rest.
So, I thank you all from the bottom of my heart for believing in what I do.

Marty says to me today “You still act surprised everytime someone wants to
pay you for photos.”
He’s so completely right.
It’s not about the money for me. (Don’t get me wrong, its a necessity. We need to eat!)
It just feels so good to get emails about jobs everyday,
and to hear people say that they are impressed with my work.
That will never get old. That’s what keeps me driven.
That’s worth so much more than the monetary value.

On an even higher note,
I am impatiently awaiting 4:30 to roll around.
I have been talking about buying a new camera for MONTHS.
But when it came down to it, I talked myself out of it.
My first camera has gotten me this far……it can wait.
Well, the wait is over.
There is a Canon 60D with my name on it at Best Buy
waiting for me to bring him home.
I’m awaiting my savings funds to transfer through.
I am finally in a place where I believe that I have earned it.
I’ve been working my butt off with school and side jobs.
Not to mention, that I’ll once again state that this is no longer a want,
this is a NEED. I need more equipment.
Next purchase will be a full frame.
Not feeling the need for that just yet, and I have access to that
at school until I graduate.

 

On the home-front, everything is peachy.
Something really great is possibly underway for Marty.
But we’re not discussing that with anyone until it’s set in stone.
A year later, and we’re both officially doing what we came here
to do and it feels amazing.
We’re in such a good place together, couldn’t ask for more.

On the school-front….
I have 2 weeks left of this semester and I say goodbye to my first year.
I am feeling really confident about my final projects, I’m really proud of them.
If only I could figure out a way to graduate faster than I already am….
I’m taking MAX amount of credits every semester.
Guhhhhh!

 

 

Leave a Reply

