a d v e n t u r e s in babysitting

I spent a couple days out in suburbia helping my brother & sister in law with my niece…
giving her Papa a couple days off babysitting duty.

You’d be surprised at how much you learn about yourself while having the responsibility of a 4 month old.

I learned that I have not given myself enough credit for my level of patience.
I learned that my voice can reach a pitch I hadn’t heard since before I hit puberty.
I have learned that dirty diapers and baby spit up make me green.
I learned that I am okay being the biggest dweeb on the planet if it can make her laugh.
I learned that sleep is a precious gift.

I used to think that I wanted to be young mom…27, 28 or 29….
How wrong was I? Very wrong.
My niece was a doll. She didn’t fuss unless she was hungry, she smiled and laughed
and made me laugh with her. But at the end of the first day, I was e x h a u s t e d.
The energy it takes to keep a baby happy would blow your mind.
Your voice is double it’s normal pitch for hours.
Your arms begin to feel like rubber bands and your brain turns to mush.
They need you for e v e r y t h i n g.
And they don’t care what you’re in the middle of doing, they want what they want
when they want it. There is no regard for you being hungry, thirsty,
needing a shower or having to go the bathroom.
YOU are not a priority.

I have a profound respect for all parents.
If you’re a stay at home parent or a working  parent.
It’s the hardest job on earth.
I am sure that its different when it’s your own child, but I don’t believe that it makes
it any easier.
Parents are not given enough credit.
Well, here it is…from me.
Your job as a parent is hard and I salute you.

Through this experience, I have learned that becoming a young, “cool” mom at the ripe ole age of 27-29 is
out of the question.
33-35 is where it’s at…maybe even later if I could afford to freeze my eggs.
I am content with my little Peanut & the little Stubbe Prince to
be the babies in my life for the next decade or so.

Leave a Reply

