twenty-five

Ten years ago I was 15 years old.
I remember it like it was yesterday…
The only worries I had was learning the square root of “x”
Trust me, it was no easy task for me.
Math intimidated me, and it still does.
Some things never change…
I remember sleepovers with the girls (Yep, Once Upon a Time…I had a core group of girlfriends!)
and we’d laugh about this birthday…”That’s forever away!”
And here it is.

This birthday seemed so far off when I was a kid playing outside
in the streetlights with my brothers…
When I was getting my first bike.
When I was getting my first kiss.
When I still thought my Dad was going to be the person I married.
When I was graduating 8th grade.
When I was getting caught sneaking out (or not getting caught when I actually got good at it!)
When high school came to an end.
When I got my first job.
….and here it is…happening.

It’s exactly what I imagined it would be….
I’d be thinking about what I’ve done, where I’ve gone & the future.
Who am I? What am I going to be?
[Insert Blacked Eyed Peas…”Imma Be, Imma Be, Imma Imma Imma Be”]
What’s in store for me in the next 10 years?
10 years ago I thought I was going to be a lawyer….
Photographer.
I’d like “World Renowned” or “Distinguished” in front of it within the next 10 years.
That’s me.

I’ve accomplished a butt load in the past couple years.
Found a direction and am actively pursuing it.
I found my person.
And he’s oh so great. [god, was I so blessed to find him.]
Figuring out whose important and whose not…which is always
so bittersweet.
My friends are gold. They are treasures of a lifetime.

I’m so incredibly grateful for everyone & everything in my life right now.
I’ve been dealt some difficult cards in the past 25 years,
and I feel like I’ve taken it with stride…maybe tripped and fell
a few times here & there, but I think I’ve risen above some seriously
difficult obstacles.

The idea of turning 25 isn’t the hard part…it’s not the number.
Its realizing how quickly time flies.
It’s learning to appreciate everything you’re given.
And I do.

Well 25…I welcome you with open arms.
Treat me right or I’ll have to dismiss you.

Here’s to the next 25!

Ten years ago…
When jobs, bills, college, goals, careers & obstacles were nowhere in sight….
When having braces was the only hardship I faced…

Leave a Reply

